Happy Head vs Hims
Happy Head is cheaper to start ($18 vs $22 per month, lowest published plans). Happy Head scores higher overall (8.8 vs 8.3).
By Julian Caraulani · prices checked
Quick verdict
Our pick between the two: Happy Head
Happy Head scores 8.8/10 against 8.3 for Hims, ahead on price, price transparency and reputation. Hims can still be the better fit: it is best for men who want a large, well-known program with FDA-approved generics and discreet delivery.
Side by side
| Happy Head | Hims | |
|---|---|---|
| Lowest price | $18/mo ($108 every 6 months) | $22/mo (paid upfront in full; plan length not stated) |
| Our score | 8.8/10 | 8.3/10 |
| Treatments | Hair loss | Erectile dysfunction (ED), Hair loss, Premature ejaculation (PE), Low testosterone (TRT and enclomiphene) |
| Medication in price | Included | Included |
| Drugs dispensed | FDA-approved + compounded | FDA-approved + compounded |
| Labs | Not stated | Not stated |
| Membership | None found | None shown on the ED, hair loss or PE pages; testosterone plans need a $49 membership at checkout, billing period not given |
| Insurance | Not stated | No insurance required |
| States | Not published | All 50 states, per its own site (2026-10-31) |
| Cancellation | Pause, skip or cancel any time; standard (higher) pricing applies if a subscription is cancelled, paused or interrupted | Cancel at least 48 hours before the next order date; no refund guaranteed once the pharmacy processes an order |
| FDA warning letters | None found (October 31, 2026) | Letter on record |
| Trustpilot | 4.4/5 (1,885 reviews) | 2.9/5 (9,684 reviews) |
| Best for | Men who want hair loss care from a dermatologist and will prepay six months for the lowest monthly price. | Men who want a large, well-known program with FDA-approved generics and discreet delivery. |
| Prices checked | 2026-10-31 | 2026-10-31 |
Price by treatment
The lowest all-in plan each publishes for the treatments both offer, with the page we read it on.
| Treatment | Happy Head | Hims |
|---|---|---|
| Hair loss | $18/mo ($108 every 6 months) source, 2026-10-31 | $22/mo (billing terms not stated) source, 2026-10-31 |
Happy Head: a closer look
Dermatologist-led hair loss care: oral finasteride from $18 a month on a 6-month supply. We searched the FDA warning-letter database on October 31, 2026 and found no letter naming Happy Head.
In its favour
- Oral finasteride from $18 a month with a dermatologist consult
- Supply length and total shown with every price
- FDA-approved finasteride and dutasteride tablets
To weigh
- Best prices need a 6-month prepayment
- Compounded topicals are the headline products
- No state list published
Hims: a closer look
The biggest brand: generic sildenafil from $22 a month and finasteride from $22, plus many compounded mints and sprays. The FDA has sent Hims a warning letter: FDA sent Hims & Hers a warning letter on September 9, 2025 about claims for compounded semaglutide (GLP-1 weight loss), not its ED or hair loss products.
In its favour
- FDA-approved generics for ED and hair loss from about $22 a month
- Free discreet shipping and no separate visit fee
- Names its dispensing pharmacies
To weigh
- Headline prices are paid upfront, plan length not shown
- Many featured products are compounded, not FDA-approved
- Pending FTC lawsuit over billing, cancellation and health data (allegations)
Which should you choose?
Choose Happy Head
Best for men who want hair loss care from a dermatologist and will prepay six months for the lowest monthly price. Its lowest all-in plan is $18/mo ($108 every 6 months).
Check Happy Head's priceChoose Hims
Best for men who want a large, well-known program with FDA-approved generics and discreet delivery. Its lowest all-in plan is $22/mo (paid upfront in full; plan length not stated).
Check Hims's priceHappy Head vs Hims: questions people ask
Is Happy Head or Hims cheaper?
Happy Head starts lower at $18 per month versus $22 at Hims, comparing each program's lowest all-in plan.
Which is better, Happy Head or Hims?
On our published score Happy Head rates 8.8 and Hims rates 8.3. Happy Head is best for men who want hair loss care from a dermatologist and will prepay six months for the lowest monthly price; Hims is best for men who want a large, well-known program with FDA-approved generics and discreet delivery.
Do Happy Head and Hims offer the same treatments?
Happy Head: Hair loss. Hims: Erectile dysfunction (ED), Hair loss, Premature ejaculation (PE), Low testosterone (TRT and enclomiphene).
Does either include the medication in the price?
Happy Head: included. Hims: included.
Men's Health Watchdog is for information only and is not medical advice. Sildenafil, tadalafil, finasteride, oral minoxidil and testosterone are prescription drugs (testosterone is a federally controlled substance); talk to a licensed clinician about whether one is right for you and at what dose. Partner links may earn us a commission; our score never depends on it. Compare other programs.

