Hims review: price per dose and safety record
The biggest brand: generic sildenafil from $22 a month and finasteride from $22, plus many compounded mints and sprays.
By Julian Caraulani · Last updated
Generic sildenafil (generic for Viagra) · paid upfront in full
Price checked Oct 31 on its own site · No email needed
- FDA warning letter on record
- FDA-approved and compounded
- FTC lawsuit on record
- All 50 states
- Price 30%9.0
- Transparency 25%8.5
- Care 20%10.0
- Access 15%8.0
- Reputation 10%2.8
It's for you if
- FDA-approved generics for ED and hair loss from about $22 a month
- Free discreet shipping and no separate visit fee
- Names its dispensing pharmacies
It's not for you if
- Headline prices are paid upfront, plan length not shown
- Many featured products are compounded, not FDA-approved
- Pending FTC lawsuit over billing, cancellation and health data (allegations)
FDA Warning Letter on Record
FDA sent Hims & Hers a warning letter on September 9, 2025 about claims for compounded semaglutide (GLP-1 weight loss), not its ED or hair loss products.
A warning letter concerns how a product is marketed or made and is not a final agency action, but it is a real regulatory mark, and you should read it yourself before deciding. Read the letter on fda.gov →
Quick facts
Men who want a large, well-known program with FDA-approved generics and discreet delivery.
Ready to choose? See how Hims compares.
Cross-check Hims's 8.3/10 against the other 19 programs we track side by side, or skip ahead and start your consultation.
How it works
Online consultation
Complete a health questionnaire; a licensed clinician reviews it and decides whether to prescribe. Consultation: Included (no separate fee shown).
Labs and plan
Labs: not stated on their site. If you are prescribed treatment, you choose a plan (16 published).
Delivery and support
Medication ships to your door from a pharmacy. Cancellation: Cancel at least 48 hours before the next order date; no refund guaranteed once the pharmacy processes an order.
Treatments available
This program offers compounded medication, prepared by a pharmacy and not FDA-approved as a finished product. Your clinician decides what is right for you.
Pricing details
| Plan | Per month |
|---|---|
Generic sildenafil (generic for Viagra) checked 2026-10-31FDA-approved product Online visit, medication and free discreet shipping. Doses per month not stated. source, 2026-10-31 | $22 |
Generic sildenafil, per use checked 2026-10-31FDA-approved product source, 2026-10-31 | Not published $4 per use |
Generic tadalafil (generic for Cialis) checked 2026-10-31FDA-approved product Daily or as-needed split not shown source, 2026-10-31 | $24 |
Generic tadalafil, per use checked 2026-10-31FDA-approved product source, 2026-10-31 | Not published $6 per use |
Branded Viagra checked 2026-10-31FDA-approved product source, 2026-10-31 | $543 |
3-in-1 Hard Mints (compounded) checked 2026-10-31Compounded, not FDA-approved Ingredients not listed on the category page source, 2026-10-31 | $35 |
Sildenafil chews, Hard Mints (compounded) checked 2026-10-31Compounded, not FDA-approved source, 2026-10-31 | $39 |
Sex Rx + Climax Control (compounded) checked 2026-10-31Compounded, not FDA-approved Ingredients not captured source, 2026-10-31 | $39 |
Finasteride checked 2026-10-31FDA-approved product source, 2026-10-31 | $22 |
Minoxidil serum (over the counter) checked 2026-10-31FDA-approved product Topical minoxidil, no prescription needed source, 2026-10-31 | $15 |
Rx Hair Loss Spray (compounded topical finasteride + minoxidil) checked 2026-10-31Compounded, not FDA-approved source, 2026-10-31 | $35 |
Finasteride & Minoxidil + Supplement Blend Pill (compounded) checked 2026-10-31Compounded, not FDA-approved source, 2026-10-31 | $35 |
Compounded testosterone cypionate injection, plus membership checked 2026-10-31Compounded, not FDA-approved Medication only. The membership covers provider check-ins and two qualifying lab tests a year. Hims says testosterone is not available in all 50 states and publishes no list. source, 2026-10-31 | $79 plus add-ons |
Generic testosterone cypionate injection, plus membership checked 2026-10-31FDA-approved product FDA-approved generic. Medication only. source, 2026-10-31 | $159 plus add-ons |
Kyzatrex oral testosterone, plus membership checked 2026-10-31FDA-approved product FDA-approved brand capsule (the page marks it FDA approved). Medication only. source, 2026-10-31 | $179 plus add-ons |
Enclomiphene + tadalafil (Testosterone Rx+), plus membership checked 2026-10-31Enclomiphene with tadalafil (an ED drug) and supplements in one product. Whether it is compounded is not stated on the card. source, 2026-10-31 | $49 plus add-ons |
- Treatments
- Erectile dysfunction (ED), Hair loss, Premature ejaculation (PE), Low testosterone (TRT and enclomiphene)
- Medication in price
- Included
- Drugs dispensed
- FDA-approved + compounded
- Labs
- Not stated on their site
- Consult fee
- Included (no separate fee shown)
- Membership
- None shown on the ED, hair loss or PE pages; testosterone plans need a $49 membership at checkout, billing period not given
- Insurance
- No insurance required
- States
- All 50 states, per its own site (2026-10-31)
- Cancellation
- Cancel at least 48 hours before the next order date; no refund guaranteed once the pharmacy processes an order
- Est. first year
- About $264 on the lowest plan, before one-off fees
Hims from $22/mo: start your intake online.
Consultation: Included (no separate fee shown) · Cancel at least 48 hours before the next order date; no refund guaranteed once the pharmacy processes an order
Is Hims Legit?
Hims is an online program where a licensed clinician reviews your health history and decides whether to prescribe. The FDA has sent it a warning letter (FDA sent Hims & Hers a warning letter on September 9, 2025 about claims for compounded semaglutide (GLP-1 weight loss), not its ED or hair loss products.). On Trustpilot it scores 2.9/5 from 9,684 reviews. Our score is 8.3/10.
- FDA warning letter on record
- Medication type on file: FDA-approved + compounded
- Publishes an all-in monthly price
- States its cancellation terms
- FTC lawsuit
- On July 29, 2026 the FTC, Utah and California (through Los Angeles County) sued Hims & Hers in federal court in Northern California. The complaint alleges health data was shared with advertising platforms and that billing and cancellation were not clearly disclosed. The case is pending; these are allegations, not findings.source, checked October 31, 2026
- LegitScript
- Its footer links to LegitScript's checker for hims.com ('Verify LegitScript Approval'), but we could not read a seal ID. Certification not independently confirmed.source, checked October 31, 2026
- Pharmacy
- Its terms name the dispensing pharmacies, including Apostrophe Pharmacy, XeCare and Curexa; compounded products include the Hard Mints, Hair Hybrids and topical sprays.source, checked October 31, 2026
Read the full check: Is Hims legit? →
It dispenses FDA-approved + compounded medication. As with any online program, confirm a licensed clinician reviews your intake and that the pharmacy is licensed.
What customers say about Hims
On Trustpilot, Hims scores 2.9/5 from 9,684 reviews.
We treat recurring complaints as the useful signal, not the average score: a pattern you can check before you pay is worth more than a star rating. Where the theme is price, note that we re-read Hims's published prices on its own site and date every one on this page.
Read the reviews →How we reviewed Hims
We score every program on the same five criteria, from what its own site publishes: the real all-in price, transparency, care, access and reputation. Commission is not a criterion.
Overall 8.3/10 · prices checked October 31, 2026 · pricing basis: lowest published all-in plan. How each criterion is scored.
What we could not verify
- States where testosterone is sold (Hims says not all 50)
- How often the $49 testosterone membership is billed
- Plan lengths behind 'paid upfront in full'
- Per-dose prices by strength
- Ingredients of the 3-in-1 products
Our verdict
Hims scores 8.3/10 in our evaluation, #5 of 20. Its strongest point: fDA-approved generics for ED and hair loss from about $22 a month. Best for men who want a large, well-known program with FDA-approved generics and discreet delivery.
See how Hims compares to all programs · Take the quiz to find your match
Start your intake with Hims
Starting at $22/month (paid upfront in full; plan length not stated). Consultation: Included (no separate fee shown).
Start your intakeQuestions
Hims FAQ
Is Hims legit?
Hims is an online program where a licensed clinician reviews your health history and decides whether to prescribe. The FDA has sent it a warning letter (FDA sent Hims & Hers a warning letter on September 9, 2025 about claims for compounded semaglutide (GLP-1 weight loss), not its ED or hair loss products.). On Trustpilot it scores 2.9/5 from 9,684 reviews. Our score is 8.3/10.
How much does Hims cost?
From $22 per month (Generic sildenafil (generic for Viagra), paid upfront in full; plan length not stated). Membership: None shown on the ED, hair loss or PE pages; testosterone plans need a $49 membership at checkout, billing period not given.
Is the medication included in Hims's price?
Yes, the headline price includes the medication.
Does Hims use FDA-approved or compounded medication?
FDA-approved + compounded. Compounded drugs are mixed by a pharmacy and are not FDA-approved as finished products.
Does Hims take insurance?
No insurance required.
Alternatives to Hims
ro.co9.2/10 · Excellent
Best for men who want plain FDA-approved generics with the visit included and a clear per-dose price.
Ro reviewVisit Ro
9.1/10 · Excellent
Best for men who want FDA-approved generics at a low per-dose price with the consult included.
Rex MD reviewVisit Rex MD
8.8/10 · Very good
Best for men who want hair loss care from a dermatologist and will prepay six months for the lowest monthly price.
Happy Head reviewVisit Happy Head