Men's Health Watchdog
ComparisonUpdated October 31, 2026

Best Hair Loss Treatment for Men Online: 10 Programs Ranked (2026)

Online hair loss programs for men ranked on the all-in monthly price of FDA-approved finasteride, compounded vs approved products and LegitScript evidence.

By Julian Caraulani · Last updated

Comparison

Quick answer
The cheapest all-in online plan for FDA-approved finasteride is Keeps at $14 a month on multi-month billing, and Ro, our top-scored program overall, sells it from $16 a month on a 12-month plan, visit included. With your own prescription the tablets cost about $0.19 each at a cash pharmacy. Prices checked October 31, 2026.

"Best" for hair loss comes down to two questions most rankings skip: is the product an FDA-approved tablet or a compounded spray, gel or capsule, and what do you pay each month once the visit, shipping and plan length are counted? This guide ranks programs on those two questions. Our overall ranking, which also weighs care, access and reputation, is on Best men's health programs, and every hair loss price sits on our hair loss price page.

The short list

Each row is the program's cheapest plain finasteride plan with the visit included, read on its own site. A multi-month plan is often billed upfront.

Program Plain finasteride, a month (all in) What it dispenses for hair loss LegitScript evidence on its site
Keeps $14 (another Keeps page shows $25) FDA-approved finasteride, OTC minoxidil, plus a compounded gel No seal found
Ro $16 (12-month plan) FDA-approved finasteride and oral minoxidil, plus compounded Mane Spray Logo only, no seal ID
GoodRx Care $16 (from its launch release) FDA-approved generics only No seal found
Happy Head $18 (6-month supply) FDA-approved finasteride and dutasteride, plus compounded topicals Seal ID 10508964
Tuyo Health $18 Finasteride; strength and compounded status not stated Seal ID 34369530
Rex MD $18 (6-month order) FDA-approved generics only Seal ID 10012446 on lifemd.com
Hims $22 FDA-approved finasteride, plus compounded sprays and pills Checker link, no seal ID read
Strut Health $25 (30 tablets) FDA-approved finasteride and oral minoxidil, plus a compounded gel Seal ID 11142478
Maximus $34.99 (90-day supply) FDA-approved finasteride, plus a compounded gel Seal ID 9646940
Lemonaid Health Not all in (consult fee for hair loss not stated) FDA-approved finasteride and oral minoxidil Seal ID 788573

A LegitScript seal ID is a number LegitScript serves for a domain; a logo hosted on the program's own site is only a claim. LegitScript's public checker sits behind a captcha, so check any program yourself at LegitScript's certification page before you pay.

Approved tablet or compounded formula

Oral finasteride is the hair loss drug with an FDA label for men. The Propecia label says it is "indicated for the treatment of male pattern hair loss (androgenetic alopecia) in MEN ONLY" (DailyMed: Propecia label). Generic finasteride tablets are approved against that same standard.

Sprays, gels, capsules that mix several drugs, and topical finasteride are a different category. A pharmacy compounds them, and no approval covers the finished product. The FDA put it plainly in April 2025: "Currently, there is no FDA-approved topical formulation of finasteride." The same alert counted "32 cases reported to the FDA Adverse Event Reporting System between 2019 and 2024" (FDA alert on compounded topical finasteride).

That does not make every compounded product a bad choice, and a prescriber may pick one for a reason. It does mean the specific formula has not been shown to the FDA to work or to be made consistently. Our finasteride and minoxidil guide prices the combination products against buying the two generics separately.

Our #1 pick
Ro
9.2/10Excellent
$16 /mo
  • FDA-approved and compounded
  • No FDA warning letter found
  • No state list published

What the label warns about

Price does not change the drug's risks. The Propecia label lists postmarketing reports of "sexual dysfunction that continued after discontinuation of treatment, including erectile dysfunction, libido disorders, ejaculation disorders, and orgasm disorders" (DailyMed: Propecia label). A real program asks about your history before it prescribes, and a clinician decides whether finasteride suits you. We do not give doses.

Oral minoxidil is the other common prescription. It is an FDA-approved blood pressure tablet, and hair loss is an off-label use. Keeps's own page says "this medication is not FDA-approved for hair loss" (Keeps oral minoxidil page). Our finasteride vs minoxidil guide covers the labels and trials for both.

Ranked on safety and priceSee every men's health program side by side

What the price really includes

Three things move the monthly number more than the program name:

  • Plan length. Happy Head prices finasteride lower per month on its 6-month and 12-month supplies than on a single month, and its most popular plan is "Billed Every 6 Months" (Happy Head finasteride page). Ro's lowest finasteride price is its 12-month plan. Longer plans are cheaper per month and harder to leave.
  • The visit. Most programs fold it in. Strut says "Price includes healthcare provider consultations and free shipping" (Strut oral finasteride page). Keeps charges a small annual consult after the first year, and Lemonaid does not state its hair loss consult fee.
  • Conflicting pages. Keeps shows a lower first-order figure on its product page than on its homepage table, and Rex MD's FAQ and product pages give different finasteride prices. We list the figure we read and flag the conflict in each review.

The cheap route most rankings leave out

Generic finasteride is one of the cheapest prescription drugs there is. With a prescription you already hold, Cost Plus Drugs lists 1 mg tablets at about $0.19 each before shipping, and we earn nothing from it. Tuyo Health keeps its own pricing flat, says "shipping is free, and there are no surprise copays" and adds that it "does not bill insurance for hair loss treatment" (Tuyo Health).

So the lowest-cost path is often a program for the first prescription, then a cash pharmacy for refills. Ro and Keeps both say a prescription can go to a pharmacy you choose. Our finasteride cost guide compares those cash prices in full.

How to pick

  1. Want the lowest monthly price on an approved tablet? Start with Keeps, Ro's 12-month plan or GoodRx Care, then check the plan length you are signing up for.
  2. Want a dermatologist to see your case? Happy Head's consult is with a board-certified dermatologist, at $18 a month on its 6-month supply.
  3. Want a spray or a combination capsule? Know that it is compounded and read the FDA's topical finasteride alert above before you choose it.
  4. Want minoxidil too? Compare the two-generic route with the combination products in our finasteride and minoxidil guide.

Two programs head to head: Hims vs Ro for hair loss and Keeps vs Happy Head.

Questions

FAQ

What is the best hair loss treatment for men online?

On our published score, Ro ranks highest overall at 9.2/10, and it sells FDA-approved finasteride from $16 a month on a 12-month plan. The best fit for you depends on whether you want an approved tablet or a compounded spray, and whether you will prepay several months. Every score's rules are on our [methodology page](/methodology).

What is the cheapest online hair loss treatment?

The cheapest all-in plan we track is Keeps at $14 a month for plain finasteride, billed every 3, 6 or 12 months. Another Keeps page shows a higher monthly figure, so confirm the price at checkout. With your own prescription, the tablets alone cost about $0.19 each at Cost Plus Drugs.

Can I get a hair loss prescription online?

Yes. Every program in the table has a licensed clinician review a questionnaire, and some ask for photos of your scalp. The clinician decides whether to prescribe and which drug. Finasteride and oral minoxidil both need a prescription in the US; topical minoxidil is sold over the counter.

Is topical finasteride FDA-approved?

No. The FDA's April 2025 alert says no topical finasteride formulation is FDA-approved, and it describes reported side effects from compounded versions. Sprays and gels from these programs are compounded by a pharmacy. Oral finasteride tablets are the FDA-approved form.

Is finasteride from an online program the same as Propecia?

Plain generic finasteride tablets are FDA-approved generics of Propecia, the same active drug. A capsule that mixes finasteride with minoxidil or vitamins is compounded, so it is not a generic of Propecia even if it contains finasteride.

Does insurance cover online hair loss treatment?

Rarely. Insurers usually treat male pattern hair loss as cosmetic, and these programs are cash only. Tuyo Health says it does not bill insurance for hair loss. Generic finasteride is cheap enough that the cash price often beats a copay. Every price on this page, with the source and the date we read it, is on our [hair loss price page](/cost/hair-loss), and the full ranking is on [Best men's health programs](/best).