Happy Head vs Maximus
Happy Head is cheaper to start ($18 vs $24.99 per month, lowest published plans). Happy Head scores higher overall (8.8 vs 8.1).
By Julian Caraulani · prices checked
Quick verdict
Our pick between the two: Happy Head
Happy Head scores 8.8/10 against 8.1 for Maximus, ahead on price, price transparency, clinical care and reputation. Maximus can still be the better fit: it is best for men who want a compounded ED protocol with no membership and nationwide availability.
Side by side
| Happy Head | Maximus | |
|---|---|---|
| Lowest price | $18/mo ($108 every 6 months) | $24.99/mo (per month, sold as a 90-day supply) |
| Our score | 8.8/10 | 8.1/10 |
| Treatments | Hair loss | Erectile dysfunction (ED), Hair loss, Men's lab tests, Low testosterone (TRT and enclomiphene) |
| Medication in price | Included | Included |
| Drugs dispensed | FDA-approved + compounded | FDA-approved + compounded |
| Labs | Not stated | Optional: $199.99 a year panel |
| Membership | None found | None |
| Insurance | Not stated | Not stated (HSA or FSA coverage depends on your plan) |
| States | Not published | All 50 states plus DC, per its own site (2026-10-31) |
| Cancellation | Pause, skip or cancel any time; standard (higher) pricing applies if a subscription is cancelled, paused or interrupted | Month-to-month plans can turn off auto-renewal any time; 3-, 6- and 12-month plans run to the end of the term with no partial refund |
| FDA warning letters | None found (October 31, 2026) | Letter on record |
| Trustpilot | 4.4/5 (1,885 reviews) | 4.4/5 (1,104 reviews) |
| Best for | Men who want hair loss care from a dermatologist and will prepay six months for the lowest monthly price. | Men who want a compounded ED protocol with no membership and nationwide availability. |
| Prices checked | 2026-10-31 | 2026-10-31 |
Price by treatment
The lowest all-in plan each publishes for the treatments both offer, with the page we read it on.
| Treatment | Happy Head | Maximus |
|---|---|---|
| Hair loss | $18/mo ($108 every 6 months) source, 2026-10-31 | $24.99/mo (per month, sold as a 90-day supply) source, 2026-10-31 |
Happy Head: a closer look
Dermatologist-led hair loss care: oral finasteride from $18 a month on a 6-month supply. We searched the FDA warning-letter database on October 31, 2026 and found no letter naming Happy Head.
In its favour
- Oral finasteride from $18 a month with a dermatologist consult
- Supply length and total shown with every price
- FDA-approved finasteride and dutasteride tablets
To weigh
- Best prices need a 6-month prepayment
- Compounded topicals are the headline products
- No state list published
Maximus: a closer look
Compounded ED protocols from $35.99 a month and hair loss tablets from $24.99, no membership fee. The FDA has sent Maximus a warning letter: FDA sent Maximus a warning letter on June 8, 2026 about website claims for compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide (GLP-1 weight loss), not its ED or hair loss products.
In its favour
- No membership fee and free shipping
- Every US state for ED
- FDA-approved oral finasteride available
To weigh
- All ED products are compounded, not FDA-approved generics
- Consult fee not stated on the ED page
- FDA warning letter in 2026 over GLP-1 weight-loss marketing
Which should you choose?
Choose Happy Head
Best for men who want hair loss care from a dermatologist and will prepay six months for the lowest monthly price. Its lowest all-in plan is $18/mo ($108 every 6 months).
Check Happy Head's priceChoose Maximus
Best for men who want a compounded ED protocol with no membership and nationwide availability. Its lowest all-in plan is $24.99/mo (per month, sold as a 90-day supply).
Check Maximus's priceHappy Head vs Maximus: questions people ask
Is Happy Head or Maximus cheaper?
Happy Head starts lower at $18 per month versus $24.99 at Maximus, comparing each program's lowest all-in plan.
Which is better, Happy Head or Maximus?
On our published score Happy Head rates 8.8 and Maximus rates 8.1. Happy Head is best for men who want hair loss care from a dermatologist and will prepay six months for the lowest monthly price; Maximus is best for men who want a compounded ED protocol with no membership and nationwide availability.
Do Happy Head and Maximus offer the same treatments?
Happy Head: Hair loss. Maximus: Erectile dysfunction (ED), Hair loss, Men's lab tests, Low testosterone (TRT and enclomiphene).
Does either include the medication in the price?
Happy Head: included. Maximus: included.
Men's Health Watchdog is for information only and is not medical advice. Sildenafil, tadalafil, finasteride, oral minoxidil and testosterone are prescription drugs (testosterone is a federally controlled substance); talk to a licensed clinician about whether one is right for you and at what dose. Partner links may earn us a commission; our score never depends on it. Compare other programs.

