Hims vs Maximus
Hims is cheaper to start ($22 vs $24.99 per month, lowest published plans). Hims scores higher overall (8.3 vs 8.1).
By Julian Caraulani · prices checked
Quick verdict
Our pick between the two: Hims
Hims scores 8.3/10 against 8.1 for Maximus, ahead on clinical care. Maximus can still be the better fit: it is best for men who want a compounded ED protocol with no membership and nationwide availability.
Side by side
| Hims | Maximus | |
|---|---|---|
| Lowest price | $22/mo (paid upfront in full; plan length not stated) | $24.99/mo (per month, sold as a 90-day supply) |
| Our score | 8.3/10 | 8.1/10 |
| Treatments | Erectile dysfunction (ED), Hair loss, Premature ejaculation (PE), Low testosterone (TRT and enclomiphene) | Erectile dysfunction (ED), Hair loss, Men's lab tests, Low testosterone (TRT and enclomiphene) |
| Medication in price | Included | Included |
| Drugs dispensed | FDA-approved + compounded | FDA-approved + compounded |
| Labs | Not stated | Optional: $199.99 a year panel |
| Membership | None shown on the ED, hair loss or PE pages; testosterone plans need a $49 membership at checkout, billing period not given | None |
| Insurance | No insurance required | Not stated (HSA or FSA coverage depends on your plan) |
| States | All 50 states, per its own site (2026-10-31) | All 50 states plus DC, per its own site (2026-10-31) |
| Cancellation | Cancel at least 48 hours before the next order date; no refund guaranteed once the pharmacy processes an order | Month-to-month plans can turn off auto-renewal any time; 3-, 6- and 12-month plans run to the end of the term with no partial refund |
| FDA warning letters | Letter on record | Letter on record |
| Trustpilot | 2.9/5 (9,684 reviews) | 4.4/5 (1,104 reviews) |
| Best for | Men who want a large, well-known program with FDA-approved generics and discreet delivery. | Men who want a compounded ED protocol with no membership and nationwide availability. |
| Prices checked | 2026-10-31 | 2026-10-31 |
Price by treatment
The lowest all-in plan each publishes for the treatments both offer, with the page we read it on.
| Treatment | Hims | Maximus |
|---|---|---|
| Erectile dysfunction (ED) | $22/mo (paid upfront in full; plan length not stated) source, 2026-10-31 | $35.99/mo (monthly, billed every 30 days, auto-renews) source, 2026-10-31 |
| Hair loss | $22/mo (billing terms not stated) source, 2026-10-31 | $24.99/mo (per month, sold as a 90-day supply) source, 2026-10-31 |
| Low testosterone (TRT and enclomiphene) | No all-in price published | No all-in price published |
Hims: a closer look
The biggest brand: generic sildenafil from $22 a month and finasteride from $22, plus many compounded mints and sprays. The FDA has sent Hims a warning letter: FDA sent Hims & Hers a warning letter on September 9, 2025 about claims for compounded semaglutide (GLP-1 weight loss), not its ED or hair loss products.
In its favour
- FDA-approved generics for ED and hair loss from about $22 a month
- Free discreet shipping and no separate visit fee
- Names its dispensing pharmacies
To weigh
- Headline prices are paid upfront, plan length not shown
- Many featured products are compounded, not FDA-approved
- Pending FTC lawsuit over billing, cancellation and health data (allegations)
Maximus: a closer look
Compounded ED protocols from $35.99 a month and hair loss tablets from $24.99, no membership fee. The FDA has sent Maximus a warning letter: FDA sent Maximus a warning letter on June 8, 2026 about website claims for compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide (GLP-1 weight loss), not its ED or hair loss products.
In its favour
- No membership fee and free shipping
- Every US state for ED
- FDA-approved oral finasteride available
To weigh
- All ED products are compounded, not FDA-approved generics
- Consult fee not stated on the ED page
- FDA warning letter in 2026 over GLP-1 weight-loss marketing
Which should you choose?
Choose Hims
Best for men who want a large, well-known program with FDA-approved generics and discreet delivery. Its lowest all-in plan is $22/mo (paid upfront in full; plan length not stated).
Check Hims's priceChoose Maximus
Best for men who want a compounded ED protocol with no membership and nationwide availability. Its lowest all-in plan is $24.99/mo (per month, sold as a 90-day supply).
Check Maximus's priceHims vs Maximus: questions people ask
Is Hims or Maximus cheaper?
Hims starts lower at $22 per month versus $24.99 at Maximus, comparing each program's lowest all-in plan.
Which is better, Hims or Maximus?
On our published score Hims rates 8.3 and Maximus rates 8.1. Hims is best for men who want a large, well-known program with FDA-approved generics and discreet delivery; Maximus is best for men who want a compounded ED protocol with no membership and nationwide availability.
Do Hims and Maximus offer the same treatments?
Hims: Erectile dysfunction (ED), Hair loss, Premature ejaculation (PE), Low testosterone (TRT and enclomiphene). Maximus: Erectile dysfunction (ED), Hair loss, Men's lab tests, Low testosterone (TRT and enclomiphene).
Does either include the medication in the price?
Hims: included. Maximus: included.
Men's Health Watchdog is for information only and is not medical advice. Sildenafil, tadalafil, finasteride, oral minoxidil and testosterone are prescription drugs (testosterone is a federally controlled substance); talk to a licensed clinician about whether one is right for you and at what dose. Partner links may earn us a commission; our score never depends on it. Compare other programs.

