Hone Health vs Maximus
Maximus scores higher overall (8.1 vs 5.8).
By Julian Caraulani · prices checked
Quick verdict
Our pick between the two: Maximus
Maximus scores 8.1/10 against 5.8 for Hone Health, ahead on price, price transparency and access. Hone Health can still be the better fit: it is best for men who want ongoing lab testing alongside ED or hair loss treatment.
Side by side
| Hone Health | Maximus | |
|---|---|---|
| Lowest price | Not published | $24.99/mo (per month, sold as a 90-day supply) |
| Our score | 5.8/10 | 8.1/10 |
| Treatments | Erectile dysfunction (ED), Hair loss, Men's lab tests, Low testosterone (TRT and enclomiphene) | Erectile dysfunction (ED), Hair loss, Men's lab tests, Low testosterone (TRT and enclomiphene) |
| Medication in price | Extra | Included |
| Drugs dispensed | FDA-approved + compounded | FDA-approved + compounded |
| Labs | Optional: $65 per test | Optional: $199.99 a year panel |
| Membership | $25 a month, or $155 a month with consults and labs | None |
| Insurance | Not stated | Not stated (HSA or FSA coverage depends on your plan) |
| States | Not published | All 50 states plus DC, per its own site (2026-10-31) |
| Cancellation | No commitments; cancel any time | Month-to-month plans can turn off auto-renewal any time; 3-, 6- and 12-month plans run to the end of the term with no partial refund |
| FDA warning letters | None found (October 31, 2026) | Letter on record |
| Trustpilot | 4.8/5 (12,475 reviews) | 4.4/5 (1,104 reviews) |
| Best for | Men who want ongoing lab testing alongside ED or hair loss treatment. | Men who want a compounded ED protocol with no membership and nationwide availability. |
| Prices checked | 2026-10-31 | 2026-10-31 |
Price by treatment
The lowest all-in plan each publishes for the treatments both offer, with the page we read it on.
| Treatment | Hone Health | Maximus |
|---|---|---|
| Erectile dysfunction (ED) | No all-in price published | $35.99/mo (monthly, billed every 30 days, auto-renews) source, 2026-10-31 |
| Hair loss | No all-in price published | $24.99/mo (per month, sold as a 90-day supply) source, 2026-10-31 |
| Men's lab tests | No all-in price published | No all-in price published |
| Low testosterone (TRT and enclomiphene) | No all-in price published | No all-in price published |
Hone Health: a closer look
A membership program: generic tadalafil from $25 a month on top of a $25 or $155 monthly membership. We searched the FDA warning-letter database on October 31, 2026 and found no letter naming Hone Health.
In its favour
- Highest Trustpilot score among the programs we list
- Lab testing every 6 months on the membership
- No commitment
To weigh
- Membership is charged on top of the medication
- Consult price on the $25 tier not shown
- Calls a topical finasteride product FDA-approved
Maximus: a closer look
Compounded ED protocols from $35.99 a month and hair loss tablets from $24.99, no membership fee. The FDA has sent Maximus a warning letter: FDA sent Maximus a warning letter on June 8, 2026 about website claims for compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide (GLP-1 weight loss), not its ED or hair loss products.
In its favour
- No membership fee and free shipping
- Every US state for ED
- FDA-approved oral finasteride available
To weigh
- All ED products are compounded, not FDA-approved generics
- Consult fee not stated on the ED page
- FDA warning letter in 2026 over GLP-1 weight-loss marketing
Which should you choose?
Choose Hone Health
Best for men who want ongoing lab testing alongside ED or hair loss treatment.
Check Hone Health's priceChoose Maximus
Best for men who want a compounded ED protocol with no membership and nationwide availability. Its lowest all-in plan is $24.99/mo (per month, sold as a 90-day supply).
Check Maximus's priceHone Health vs Maximus: questions people ask
Which is better, Hone Health or Maximus?
On our published score Hone Health rates 5.8 and Maximus rates 8.1. Hone Health is best for men who want ongoing lab testing alongside ED or hair loss treatment; Maximus is best for men who want a compounded ED protocol with no membership and nationwide availability.
Do Hone Health and Maximus offer the same treatments?
Hone Health: Erectile dysfunction (ED), Hair loss, Men's lab tests, Low testosterone (TRT and enclomiphene). Maximus: Erectile dysfunction (ED), Hair loss, Men's lab tests, Low testosterone (TRT and enclomiphene).
Does either include the medication in the price?
Hone Health: extra. Maximus: included.
Men's Health Watchdog is for information only and is not medical advice. Sildenafil, tadalafil, finasteride, oral minoxidil and testosterone are prescription drugs (testosterone is a federally controlled substance); talk to a licensed clinician about whether one is right for you and at what dose. Partner links may earn us a commission; our score never depends on it. Compare other programs.

