Is Minoxidil SAFE ?! | Hair Surgeon Review
By Dr. Kopelman · published · 7:03 · 278K views when we checked · Clinician: Dr. Kopelman
The video belongs to Dr. Kopelman and plays on YouTube's privacy-enhanced player. Watch on YouTube.
What this video covers
This is a 7 minute video from the Dr. Kopelman channel, published on 10 November 2024 and listed under Minoxidil. The channel belongs to the Kopelman practices, which offer hair restoration and aesthetic surgery in New York, so this is the company's own video. The title presents it as a hair surgeon's review of whether minoxidil is safe.
According to its description, the creator gives a hair surgeon's opinion on whether minoxidil is safe to use for hair. The creator says the video is meant to help viewers understand potential side effects before starting the medication, and names scalp irritation and initial shedding as topics. The chapters show a short intro, a section comparing topical and oral minoxidil starting at 0:31, and a side effects section from 1:45 that runs to the end, which makes it the longest part of the video.
The description also carries promotion. It gives a booking link and phone number for appointments and surgical consultations with the practice, and a link to Dermondemand, a service that advertises hair loss treatment within 24 hours. It lists social accounts for Joel Kopelman and Ross Kopelman as well. A disclaimer in the description says the channel's content is for education and entertainment and is not medical advice. Captions were not available, so this write-up reflects only the title, description and chapters, and a reader should watch the video to see what is actually said about each topic.
Our summary, written from the video's title, description and chapters (description and chapters), checked 2026-10-31. It reports what the creator presents; it is not medical advice, and the creator's experience may not match yours.
Chapters
What it costs today
- FDA-approved and compounded
- No FDA warning letter found
- No state list published
Which programs let you message a clinician
From each program's own page, read 2026-10-31. "Not found" means we found no statement either way.
| Program | Message a clinician | Cost | From | Visit |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Keeps | YesThe plan lists 24/7 messaging access with a licensed medical provider among what you get.source, 2026-10-31 | Included | $14/mo | Visit |
| Ro | YesFree, unlimited follow-up messaging with a Ro-affiliated provider after you start treatment.source, 2026-10-31 | Included | $16/mo | Visit |
| GoodRx Care | YesYou message your provider from the treatment subscription dashboard; a dose change or a long gap may require a new paid telehealth visit, and no messaging price is stated.source, 2026-10-31 | Not stated | $16/mo | Visit |
| Rex MD | YesFollow-ups are free once treatment starts; you message your assigned provider through the member portal any time.source, 2026-10-31 | Included | $18/mo | Visit |
| Happy Head | YesUnlimited dermatologist support to adjust treatment; the page calls it support rather than messaging and states no price for it.source, 2026-10-31 | Not stated | $18/mo | Visit |
| Tuyo Health | YesMonthly follow-ups are included and your doctor stays available to check in; the FAQ adds messaging with your provider on a secure platform.source, 2026-10-31 | Included | $18/mo | Visit |
| Strut Health | YesFree, unlimited follow-ups with a healthcare provider, who you can message from your account.source, 2026-10-31 | Included | $18.33/mo | Visit |
| Hims | YesYou can message a provider with questions at any time, for free.source, 2026-10-31 | Included | $22/mo | Visit |
| Maximus | YesEvery protocol includes 24/7 messaging with your care team at no additional cost.source, 2026-10-31 | Included | $24.99/mo | Visit |
| MangoRx | YesUnlimited access to licensed providers for any concerns, with ongoing provider support listed in the monthly plan; the page does not name the channel.source, 2026-10-31 | Included | $90/mo | Visit |
| Lemonaid Health | YesMessaging with clinical providers is included (stated on the oral minoxidil hair loss page; the ED page does not mention it).source, 2026-10-31 | Included | See review | Visit |
| PeterMD | YesUnlimited free consultations and 24/7 access to your medical team; the page says access and consults, not messaging by name.source, 2026-10-31 | Included | See review | Visit |
| Hone Health | YesUnlimited messaging with your care team, plus a clinician meeting every 3 months, as part of the membership.source, 2026-10-31 | Included in the paid Hone membership | See review | Visit |
| Rugiet | YesYou can message your doctor anytime in the portal, and unlimited follow-ups with your doctor are included in the price.source, 2026-10-31 | Included | $99/mo | Visit |
| DudeMeds | Not foundNo statement found on the site about messaging a clinician after starting treatment. | Not stated | See review | Visit |
More Minoxidil videos
12:12
2:44
7:21