Men's Health Watchdog

Hims vs Keeps- Which hair loss treatment is better? (three differences to note)

By The Savvy Professor · published · 2:23 · 45K views when we checked · Creator: The Savvy Professor

The video belongs to The Savvy Professor and plays on YouTube's privacy-enhanced player. Watch on YouTube.

What this video covers

This is a short comparison video, 2 minutes 23 seconds long, published on 2023-05-31 by The Savvy Professor. It is an independent creator channel, not a video made by Hims or Keeps. The title promises three differences between the two hair loss brands, and the page is listed under Keeps.

According to its description, the creator treats convenience as the main difference. The creator says Hims offers a way to speak with a medical expert through its website and have treatments delivered to your home. The description says Keeps requires you to already have a doctor's prescription for prescription medicine and does not offer online consultations. From that, the creator concludes that Hims is the more convenient of the two.

The chapters show the video continuing past convenience. They are labeled Convenience, Convenience Pricing, More Affordable Ingredients and Better Ingredients. These are auto-generated key moments, so the wording may not match what the creator says on screen. The description gives no detail on prices, which brand costs less, or what the ingredients are, so check the video for those points.

The description includes two Amazon affiliate links, one to a Keeps minoxidil product and one to a Hims hair regrowth product. The creator says they earn a small commission on purchases made through those links. The description also calls the video educational and says its information was gathered from web searches, social media and forums. It is not medical advice, so talk to a clinician about any treatment decision.

Our summary, written from the video's title, description and chapters (description and chapters), checked 2026-10-31. It reports what the creator presents; it is not medical advice, and the creator's experience may not match yours.

Chapters

  1. 0:15Convenience: the creator compares how easily you can get treatment from each brand, including access to online consultations.
  2. 0:37Convenience Pricing: a section on cost as it relates to convenience, with the specifics left to the video.
  3. 1:09More Affordable Ingredients: a section on ingredient cost, though the metadata does not say which brand it favors.
  4. 1:39Better Ingredients: a closing section on ingredient quality, with the creator's conclusion not stated in the description.

What it costs today

Keeps: our review and price
Keeps
7.7/10Good
From $14/mo, Finasteride 1 mg
  • FDA-approved and compounded
  • No FDA warning letter found
  • Most of the United States

Not in this price: $5 annual consultation after that.

What Keeps costs →

Which programs let you message a clinician

From each program's own page, read 2026-10-31. "Not found" means we found no statement either way.

ProgramMessage a clinicianCostFromVisit
KeepsYesThe plan lists 24/7 messaging access with a licensed medical provider among what you get.source, 2026-10-31Included$14/moVisit
RoYesFree, unlimited follow-up messaging with a Ro-affiliated provider after you start treatment.source, 2026-10-31Included$16/moVisit
GoodRx CareYesYou message your provider from the treatment subscription dashboard; a dose change or a long gap may require a new paid telehealth visit, and no messaging price is stated.source, 2026-10-31Not stated$16/moVisit
Rex MDYesFollow-ups are free once treatment starts; you message your assigned provider through the member portal any time.source, 2026-10-31Included$18/moVisit
Happy HeadYesUnlimited dermatologist support to adjust treatment; the page calls it support rather than messaging and states no price for it.source, 2026-10-31Not stated$18/moVisit
Tuyo HealthYesMonthly follow-ups are included and your doctor stays available to check in; the FAQ adds messaging with your provider on a secure platform.source, 2026-10-31Included$18/moVisit
Strut HealthYesFree, unlimited follow-ups with a healthcare provider, who you can message from your account.source, 2026-10-31Included$18.33/moVisit
HimsYesYou can message a provider with questions at any time, for free.source, 2026-10-31Included$22/moVisit
MaximusYesEvery protocol includes 24/7 messaging with your care team at no additional cost.source, 2026-10-31Included$24.99/moVisit
MangoRxYesUnlimited access to licensed providers for any concerns, with ongoing provider support listed in the monthly plan; the page does not name the channel.source, 2026-10-31Included$90/moVisit
Lemonaid HealthYesMessaging with clinical providers is included (stated on the oral minoxidil hair loss page; the ED page does not mention it).source, 2026-10-31IncludedSee reviewVisit
PeterMDYesUnlimited free consultations and 24/7 access to your medical team; the page says access and consults, not messaging by name.source, 2026-10-31IncludedSee reviewVisit
Hone HealthYesUnlimited messaging with your care team, plus a clinician meeting every 3 months, as part of the membership.source, 2026-10-31Included in the paid Hone membershipSee reviewVisit
RugietYesYou can message your doctor anytime in the portal, and unlimited follow-ups with your doctor are included in the price.source, 2026-10-31Included$99/moVisit
DudeMedsNot foundNo statement found on the site about messaging a clinician after starting treatment.Not statedSee reviewVisit

More Keeps videos

All 6 Keeps videos →